Michael Rother

THE AMERICAS: james@surefireagency.com

For many fans, musicians and critics alike the guitarist and multi-instrumentalist Michael Rother is a key figure of the innovative music scene originating from Germany in the early 1970s. His music has been inspirational for generations of musicians - from David Bowie, Brian Eno, Iggy Pop, DEVO, Sonic Youth, Stereolab, U2, Autechre, Radiohead, Primal Scream, and beyond.

Michael Rother was a member of Kraftwerk in 1971 and formed the legendary bands NEU! (with Klaus Dinger) and Harmonia (with Hans-Joachim Roedelius and Dieter Moebius of Cluster) before releasing nine solo albums. Since the official re-release of the NEU! albums in 2001 Rother has played in many countries around the world and collaborated with numerous musicians and bands: John Frusciante, Secret Machines, Benjamin Curtis (School of Seven Bells), Josh Klinghoffer, Red Hot Chili Peppers, FM Einheit (Einstürzende Neubauten), Mick Harvey, Beaches, Dieter Moebius, Boxed In, Paul Weller and Thurston Moore (Sonic Youth) - to name only a few.

In 2010 Michael Rother formed the live project Hallogallo 2010 with Steve Shelley (drums, Sonic Youth) and Aaron Mullan (bass, Tall Firs). Since 2011, Michael Rother toured many European countries as well as Russia, China, Mexico and Japan. He also created film scores for the two feature films "Houston" and "The Robbers". "Houston", by German director Bastian Günther, was premiered at the legendary Sundance Film Festival and has since won several awards. In October 2015, Groenland Records released the career-spanning Harmonia boxset "Complete Works" for which Michael Rother contributed and edited archival recordings of the band. The film "Conny Plank - The Potential of Noise", a documentary by Reto Caduff and Stephan Plank about the legendary German producer, was premiered in 2017 and features an interview with Michael Rother as well as music by NEU! and Harmonia. In February 2019, Groenland Records released the vinyl & CD box set "Michael Rother - Solo" which was featured in extensive articles and reviews in Uncut & PROG (UK), Tsugi (France), MOJO & Record Collector (UK), Musikexpress (Germany), and numerous other magazines. Michael Rother ́s current live line-up includes Hans Lampe on drums and Franz Bargmann on guitar. Franz Bargmann is an ex-member of the Berlin-based band Camera. Hans Lampe contributed drumming on the album NEU! ́75 and was a member of La Düsseldorf. In April 2019, Michael Rother premiered his second solo album Sterntaler at Under The Bridge, London, and invited Thurston Moore (Sonic Youth) to join him on stage for 2 songs at the finale. At his concerts in 2019, Michael Rother will present the endless fast-forward type of music of NEU! as well as tracks by Harmonia and solo works.